top of page

Compliments

Today's briefly topic, which is NOT new. Let me see if I can use a different perspective. Compliments on physical appearance. The effort it takes and its importance to many people. I understand doing it for yourself! You want to look your best, because that makes you feel your best, shows an effort and you act positive, because you feel great! I understand caring about your appearance because of your occupation. You have to uphold a certain level of your appearance, as a requirement for that position. I understand purposely looking your best, making an extra effort, going above and beyond your normal routine, to look your best, for someone else. Not work related, its definitely personal. Your spouse, a date, a family gathering, to meet up with old friends. Its NOT about trying to impress. Its first about you caring about your appearance. Then, its about caring how you look when out in public, verses at home. Going to run errands verses visiting family, or out on a date. Its about not looking fancy per say, but looking more than groomed. There are woman that dont have a man, and don't need a man, to get dolled up, on a daily basis. They apply makeup, do their hair, plan outfits, iron their clothes, and spend hours, every single day, just on their appearance, before they step foot outside! There are woman that love designer labels and will only wear expensive clothes. There are women, that no matter how long you've known them, you've never seen them without makeup, no matter what day it is, where they are, or where they're going. I can NOT relate to those things. I do not apply makeup every day, I do not style my hair or style and wear wigs every day. I don't plan outfits, prepare clothes, and spend hours getting dolled up, every single day. I do shoots often, however I do not shoot every single day. I don't go out in public, every single day, or have people in my home every day. I'm not constantly entertaining guests, visiting family and friends, attending events all the time, going out to eat often, or traveling and vacation. I rarely go out to dinner, I rarely have guests over for dinner, and I rarely attend public events. Maybe I do have family, friends, fans and total strangers that think I look beautiful, minus makeup, my wigs and cute outfits. Ok, well beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. I appreciate it, to be complimented whether I'm at home cooking and cleaning, or looking my best and out in public! Please show me a single woman, a grown woman, that is confident in herself and her appearance, that purposely spends time to look her best, and doesn't like, love or adore compliments! Unless you're dealing with a woman whose messed up mentally and emotionally, because of past negative experiences involving her looks, there's ABSOLUTELY no way on God's green earth, she won't love and appreciate, even the simplest of compliments! Men. Gender has little to do with personal appearance and the efforts made. Gender has nothing to do with giving a compliment, or positive reinforcement, or getting those things. If someone does more than roll out of bed, brush their teeth, and throw on some wrinkled clothes, then I GUARANTEE YOU they love compliments! Male, female, all ages, all ethnicities, all around the world, since the dawn of time. People don't spend hours on their appearance, and are around people physically for hours, to never receive a single, simple, quick and painless compliment!

Vintage Stylist Dianna Prince 

Instagram @princedianna 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page